Senate Nominations approved numerous appointments over the 86th Session including Education Commission Mike Morath; Executive Commissioner of HHSC Courtney Phillips; Emily Lindley of the TCEQ; Shelly Botkin, Arthur D’ Andrea, and DeAnn Walker of the PUC.

Secretary of State David Whitely’s nomination was voted to be advanced to the full Senate on 2/28 with 4 ayes and 3 nays along party lines but his nomination could never get enough votes (2/3 of the Senators present) to be confirmed. The Senate adjourned without confirming his nomination. He announced his resignation on May 27 minutes before the Senate adjourned sine die.