The AI Advisory Council will begin studying the use of artificial intelligence (AI) systems in state government, now that the Texas Governor, Lt. Governor, and Speaker of the House have appointed council members.

The appointments include: Senator Tan Parker and Representative Giovanni Capriglione (co-chairs), John Bash, Mark Stone, Dean Teffer, and Angela Wilkins.

The seven-member council includes State of Texas Chief Information Officer and Texas Department of Information Resources (DIR) Executive Director Amanda Crawford. DIR will also be providing administrative support to the council.

The Artificial Intelligence Advisory Council, created by House Bill 2060 (88th Legislature), was created to study and monitor AI systems developed, employed, or procured by state agencies, assess the need for a code of ethics for AI systems in state government, and recommend administrative actions state agencies may take without further legislative authorization.

Findings and any policy recommendations will be due in a report to the Legislature by December 1, 2024.