Positions on the 2020 ballot include President, U.S. Senator, all thirty-six U.S. Representatives, three Texas Supreme Court seats as well as seats in the Texas Senate, the Texas House, and the State Board of Education. While December 9th was the filing deadline for candidates for the March Primaries and those who will seek office in 2020, it will take a few days before every candidate on the primary ballot and every candidate eligible for nomination by a minor party are identified. For example, the filing period for HD 96 candidates was re-opened through December 16th after Rep. Bill Zedler withdrew his candidacy. Of note, independents and write-in candidates have deadlines later in the election cycle.

In addition to all 150 Texas State Representatives, there will also be 16 State Senator Districts on the ballot held currently by Sens.:

  • Bryan Hughes, District 1
  • Brandon Creighton, District 4
  • Carol Alvarado, District 6
  • Larry Taylor, District 11
  • Jane Nelson, District 12
  • Borris Miles, District 13
  • Lois Kolkhorst, District 18
  • Pete Flores, District 19
  • Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa, District 20
  • Judith Zaffirini, District 21
  • Brian Birdwell, District 22
  • Dawn Buckingham, District 24
  • José Menéndez, District 26
  • Eddie Lucio, Jr., District 27
  • Charles Perry, District 28
  • OPEN SEAT District 29 – Rep. Cesar Blanco (D-El Paso), Bethany Hutch (R-El Paso), and David Marino (L- El Paso)

After the filing period has concluded we are aware of the following open seats in the Texas Legislature:


  • HD 10: Rep. John Wray (R-Waxahachie) announced he would not seek re-election to a fourth term.
  • HD 25: Speaker Dennis Bonnen (R-Angleton) announced he would not seek re-election.
  • HD 26: Rep. Rick Miller (R-Sugar Land) announced he would not seek re-election.
  • HD 28: Rep. John Zerwas (R-Richmond) retired effective Sept. 30.
  • HD 60: Rep. Mike Lang (R-Granbury) has reportedly filed for Hood Co. Commissioner, canceling his re-election bid.
  • HD 74: Rep. Poncho Nevárez (D-Eagle Pass) announced he would not seek re-election.
  • HD 76: Rep. Cesar Blanco (D-El Paso) announced he would seek SD 29 being vacated by Sen. Jose Rodriguez (D-El Paso).
  • HD 92: Rep. Jonathan Stickland (R-Bedford) announced he would not seek re-election to a fifth term.
  • HD 96: Rep. Bill Zedler (R-Arlington) formally withdrew from the 2020 primary ballot and will not seek re-election
  • HD 100: Rep. Eric Johnson (D-Dallas) elected as mayor of Dallas, resigned shortly after.
  • HD 119: Rep. Roland Gutierrez (D-San Antonio) announced he would challenge Sen. Pete Flores (R-Pleasanton) for SD 19.
  • HD 138: Rep. Dwayne Bohac (R-Houston) announced he would not seek re-election to a ninth term.
  • HD 148: Rep. Jessica Farrar (D-Houston) retired effective Sept. 30.


  • SD 23: Sen. Royce West (D-Dallas) announced his challenge of U.S. Sen. John Cornyn. West was not required to resign his State Senate seat to run for the U.S. Senate since his term is not up until 2020. 
  • SD 29: Rep. Jose Rodriguez (El Paso) announced he would not seek re-election.

In the 2020 election cycle, eight seats on the State Board of Education are on the ballot. The list of seats and candidates to date are according to the Secretary of State website:

  • District 1 – Georgina C. Perez (D-El Paso; incumbent) is being challenged by Jennifer Ivey (R-Clint)
  • District 5 – OPEN SEAT Ken Mercer (R-San Antonio) is retiring
    • Democratic Primary Candidates – Letti Bresnahan (San Marcos) & Rebecca Bell Metereau (San Antonio)
    • Republican Primary Candidates – Inga Cotton (San Antonio), Robert Morrow (Austin) & Lani Popp (Fair Oaks Ranch)
  • District 6 – OPEN SEAT Donna Bahorich (R-Houston) is retiring
    • Democratic Primary Candidates – Debra Kerner (Bellaire), Kimberly McLeod (Houston) & Michelle Palmer (Houston)
    • Republican Primary Candidate – Will Hickman (Houston)
  • District 8 – OPEN SEAT Barbara Cargill (R, The Woodlands) is retiring
    • Democratic Primary Candidate – Sharon Berry (Lovelady)
    • Republican Primary Candidate – Audrey Young (Apple Springs)
  • District 9 – Keven Ellis (R-Lufkin; incumbent & Chair) is being challenged by Brenda Davis (D- Honey Grove)
  • District 10 –Tom Maynard (R-Florence; incumbent) will face the Democratic Party nominee (Marsha Burnett-Webster or Stephen Wynn from Georgetown) in November
  • District 14 – Sue Melton-Malone (R, Waco; incumbent) will face Maria Berry (R-Woodway) in the primaries. The Democratic Primary candidate is Greg Alvord (Aubrey)
  • District 15 – OPEN SEAT Marty Rowley (R-Amarillo) is retiring
    • Democratic Primary Candidate – John Betancourt (Amarillo)
    • Republican Primary Candidate – Jay Johnson (Pampa)