House Speaker Dade Phelan has created the House Select Committee on Educational Opportunity and Enrichment. The committee was created to consider issues and matters that broadly affect  educational opportunities for K-12 students in Texas and make recommendations for:

  • Ensuring all Texas youths enjoy equal educational opportunity and the freedom to obtain a quality education, regardless of circumstances;
  • Improving outcomes for Texas public school students and meaningfully supporting educators and educational institutions; and
  • Modernizing assessment and accountability measures for Texas schools educating K-12 students.

The committee shall submit an initial report no later than August 11, 2023 and shall include the current menu of choices available to K-12 students in Texas and highlighting of options for providing additional educational opportunities to K-12 students.

The committee has 15 members:

  • Rep. Brad Buckley (Chair)
  • Rep. Barbara Gervin-Hawkins (Vice-Chair)
  • Rep. Trent Ashby
  • Rep. Keith Bell
  • Rep. Harold V. Dutton, Jr.
  • Rep. James B. Frank
  • Rep. Cody Harris
  • Rep. Cole Hefner
  • Rep. Gina Hinojosa
  • Rep. Ken King
  • Rep. Oscar Longoria
  • Rep. Will Metcalf
  • Rep. Matt Shaheen
  • Rep. James Talarico
  • Rep. Gary VanDeaver