Governor Rick Perry set Saturday, May 8, 2010, as the special election date to fill the Senate District 22 seat vacated by the resignation of Sen. Kip Averitt and the House District 100 seat vacated by the resignation of Rep. Terri Hodge.


Candidates for this special election must file applications with the Secretary of State no later than 5:00 p.m. on April 7, 2010. The early voting period for this special election runs from April 26 to May 4, 2010.


The legislators elected in these special elections will serve out the remainder of Averitt and Hodge’s terms, which expire in January 2011.


To view the governor’s proclamations setting the special election for these vacancies, please visit  and