House Speaker Dade Phelan has announced the Texas House Investigative Committee on the Robb Elementary Shooting. The committee will be made up of the following members: Rep. Dustin Burrows (R-Lubbock), Rep. Joe Moody (D-El Paso), and former Supreme Court Justice Eva Guzman. Speaker Phelan also issued the following joint interim charges on mass violence prevention & community safety to the House Select Committee on Youth Health & Safety and House Homeland Security & Public Safety Committee:

  1. Study the implementation and impact of Senate Bill 11 (86th Legislature, Regular Session) and any other pertinent laws. Identify additional policies, protocols, and strategies that will help create a safer environment in schools and local communities.
  2. Examine strategies to prevent acts of mass violence, including measures to enhance firearm safety in Texas.
  3. Evaluate the preparedness of and coordination between state and local agencies, nongovernmental entities, and law enforcement for the prevention of and response to mass violence, including the content and efficacy of active shooter response training.
  4. Examine the role of online communications in mass violence scenarios and identify technological resources and solutions for detecting, mitigating, and reporting threats.
  5. Study the needs of the state related to mental health professionals, educators, school administrators, and related professionals overseeing youth mental health programs and the delivery of those mental health services.