Rep. John Zerwas (R-Richmond) has withdrawn from the race for speaker of the Texas House, according to the Texas Tribune. Zerwas was the first member to file for House Speaker just over a year ago after House Speaker Joe Straus announced he would not run again.

The Tribune initially reported his departure came during an effort among certain House GOP member to draft Rep. Dennis Bonnen into the race (R-Angelton).

Today, Rep. Dennis Bonnen officially filed for House Speaker.

Rep. Bonnen will join the following list of members who have filed for speaker:

  • Travis Clardy (R- Nacogdoches)
  • Drew Darby (R- San Angelo)
  • Eric Johnson (D-Dallas)
  • Phil King (R-Weatherford)
  • Tan Parker (R-Flower Mound)
  • Four Price (R- Amarillo)